A prestigeous honour

H.E. the President of the Republic of Senegal Macky Sall, Naomi Campbell, Nadja Auermann, Christian Wulff, Wolfgang Stumph, Robert Harting, Prof. Ludwig Güttler, Mario Adorf, Roland Kaiser, H.M. Queen Silvia of Sweden, José Manuel Barroso, Thomas Gottschalk, Catherine Deneuve, Michael Ballack, Heiner Lauterbach, Professor Dr. Martin Winterkorn, Jean-Claude Juncker, Gérard Depardieu, Armin Mueller-Stahl, Dr. Hans-Dietrich Genscher, Maximilian Schell, Franz Beckenbauer, Dr. Lothar de Maizière, Prof. Dr. Kurt Masur, Henry Maske, Sir Roger Moore, Vladimir Putin, Joachim Fuchsberger, Helene Fischer, Matthias Steiner, Prof. Dr. Kurt Biedenkopf, Ornella Muti, José Carreras, H.E. Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak, Michael Jackson (posthumously), Dr. Roman Herzog, Til Schweiger and Bob Geldof – they all belong to the distinguished recipients of the SemperOperaball’s Medal of St Gearoge.

Carefully crafted in their own atelier, as in previous years Jeweller Leicht will donate the precious award for the occasion. The renowned jeweller with shops all over Germany has based the medal on one of the most beautiful older pieces in Dresden’s world famous “Green Vault Museum” – St. George on Horseback. Since medieval times the motif has been a symbolizing the victory of good over evil. Made in Jeweller Leicht’s atelier in the “gold city” of Pforzheim, the medal is handcrafted from solid white and yellow gold 750/- (18 carat) and decorated with rubies and brilliants. The SemperOperaball’s Dresden medal of St. George, originally referred to as the Medal of Saxon Gratitude is both an award and a symbol: at this year’s SemperOperaball it will once again be presented to those who, much like St. George, have taken a stand for good in the world against all odds, “against the flow”. “Adverso flumine” – the inscription on the precious jewel determines the selection criteria for its recipients: only those who stand out become celebrated recipients at the ball.

The recipients of the SemperOperaball’s Dresden Medal of St. George


Gunther Emmerlich (German opera singer and entertainer)
Laudator: Stanislaw Tillich (politician and Minister-President of Saxony)

Mario Adorf (German actor, Entertainer and author)
Laudator: Cosma Shiva Hagen (German-American actress)

Uschi Glas (German actress)
Laudatio: Patricia Riekel (editor-in-chief BUNTE)

Christian Wulff (German politician, President of Germany 2010-2012)
Laudatio: Günther H. Oettinger (German politician, European Commissioner for Energy 2010-2014)

Youssef al-Alawi Abdullah (Omani politician and Minister of Foreign Affairs)
Laudatio: Ulrich Kienzle (German journalist and publisher)


H.E. the President of the Republic of Senegal Macky Sall

Laudation: Gerhard Ludwig Cardinal Müller (prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith), Aiman A. Mazyek (former chairman of Central Council of Muslims)

Naomi Campbell (Fashion model and actress)

Laudation: Patricia Riekel (editor in chief “BUNTE”)

Nadja Auermann (Fashion model and actress)

Laudation: Patricia Riekel (editor in chief “BUNTE”)

Wolfgang Stumph (Actor)

Laudation: Jan Hofer (Anchor of German TV news, Journalist)

Robert Harting (recent World- and European champion, Olympic Gold Medalist 2012)

Laudation: Matthias Steiner (Olympic Gold Medalist 2008)

Prof. Ludwig Güttler (Trumpet virtuoso)

Laudation: Toccata for Trumpet and pianos

Roland Kaiser (Musician)

Laudation: Citizen of Dresden (Audience of the SemperOpenairball)


HRH Queen Silvia of Sweden

Laudation: Roland Koch (former Minister-President of Hessen)

José Manuel Barroso (President of the European Commission)

Laudation: Stanislaw Tillich (Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony)

Thomas Gottschalk (TV-Host, Entertainer and Actor)

Laudation: Horst Lichter (TV-Chef, media personality)

Catherine Deneuve (Actress)

Laudation: Axel Milberg (Actor)

Udo Jürgens (Singer, Entertainer)

Laudation: The Audience>

The best audience in the world in Dresden

Laudation: Helma Orosz (Mayor of Dresden)


Michael Ballack (Former Football Star)

Laudation: Waldemar Hartmann (Former Football Commentator)

Heiner Lauterbach (Actor)

Laudation: Uwe Ochsenknecht (Actor)

Jean-Claude Juncker (Prime Minister of Luxembourg)

Laudation: Stanislaw Tillich (Former Prime Minister of Saxony)

Gérard Depardieu (Actor)

Laudation: Sonja Kirchberger (Actress)

Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn (CEO of Volkswagen AG)

Laudation: Veronika Ferres (Actress)


Sir Roger Moore (Actor)

Laudation: Thomas de Maizière (Federal Minister of Defence)

S.E. Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak (Chair of the Executive Affairs Authority of Abu Dhabi)

Laudation: Jens Lehmann (Former National Goalkeeper)

Ornella Muti (Actress)

Laudation: Peter Lewandowski (Chief editor Gala)

Helene Fischer (Singer)

Laudation: Dennenesch Zoudé (Actress)


Roman Herzog (former Federal President of Germany)

Laudation: Petra Gerster (Journalist, News Anchor)

Til Schweiger (Actor)

Laudation: Thomas Kretschmann (Actor)

Bob Geldof (Musician)

Laudation: Wolfgang Stumph (Actor)


Prof. Dr. Kurt Biedenkopf (former Prime Minister of Saxony)

Laudation: Ludwig Güttler (Trumpeter)

José Carreras (Opera Singer)

Laudation: Peter Maffay (Musician)

Michael Jackson (Artist) accepted by LaToya Jackson posthumously

Laudation: Mariella Ahrens (Actress)


Wladimir Putin (Prime Minister of the Russian Federation)

Laudation: Prime Minister Stanislaw Tillich

Joachim Fuchsberger (Actor and Entertainer)

Laudation: Ralf Bauer

Matthias Steiner (Winner Olympic Gold 2008)

Laudation: Lena Schöneborn


Dr. Lothar de Maiziére (former Prime Minister)

Laudation: Prof. Georg Milbradt (former Prime Minister)

Prof. Kurt Masur (Conductor)

Laudation: Thomas de Maiziére

Henry Maske (Boxing World Champion)

Laudation: Dennenesch Zoudé


Hans-Dietrich Genscher (former Federal Foreign Minister)

Laudation: Prof. Georg Milbradt (former Prime Minister)

Maximilian Schell (Actor)

Laudation: Stephanie Stumph

Franz Beckenbauer (VP German Football Association, former professional player and coach)

Laudation: Federal Minister Wolfgang Tiefensee


Armin Mueller-Stahl (Actor)

Laudation: Prof. Georg Milbradt (former Prime Minister)